League of Conservation Voters
political viewpoint:
2016 election spending:
(Source: The Center for Responsive Politics)
date created:
Washington DC
According to its website, the League “advocates for sound environmental laws and policies, holds elected officials accountable for their votes and actions, and elects pro-environment candidates who will champion our priority issues.” The League is perhaps best known for its “national environmental scorecard,” which ranks members of Congress based on their votes on environmental issues. It also maintains a “dirty dozen” list of members of Congress it is targeting, based on both their environmental record and seat vulnerability.
involvement in federal and state elections:
The League of Conservation Voters has spent money in support of Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton this cycle, while opposing Republican candidate Donald Trump. It is also supporting Democrats in competitive Senate races including Nevada, Pennsylvania and North Carolina.
known donors:
From 2010-2012, the League received $4.2 million from The Advocacy Fund, a lobbying organization that helps clients run “high impact legislative and political campaigns.” From 2008-2012, the League received $8.8 million from Green Tech Action Fund, an organization that funds environmentally-friendly technologies. The League also received smaller donations of $25,000 and $650,000 from two liberal dark money groups, Patriot Majority USA and Priorities USA respectively.
candidates supported:
Hillary Clinton (D-President), Russ Feingold (D-WI, Senate), Pete Gallego (D-TX, House), Jason Walser (R-NC, House), Katie McGinty (D-PA, Senate), Ted Strickland (D-OH, Senate), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV, Senate)
candidates opposed:
Donald Trump (R-President), Ted Cruz (R-President), Marco Rubio (R-President), Robert Blaha (R-CO, Senate), Ryan Frazier (R-CO, Senate), Darryl Glenn (R-CO Senate), Jack Graham (R-CO, Senate), Jon Keyser (R-CO, Senate), Rob Portman (R-OH, Senate), Will Hurd (R-TX, House), Mike Coffman (R-CO, House), Scott Tipton (R-CO, House), Jason Lewis (R-MN, House), Cresent Hardy (R-NV, House), David Jolly (R-FL, House), Ron Johnson (R-WI, Senate), Joe Heck (R-NV, Senate), Richard Burr (R-NC, Senate), Pat Toomey (R-PA, Senate)
political ads:
more key players